Skip to content

Farewell, Twenty Eleven

December 31, 2011

Wow! It’s hard to imagine this past year will soon be a distant memory. As we prepare to wave goodbye to 2011 and usher in 2012, I began to think about what exactly happened these past twelve months.

It was hard for me to remember everything, so I began trolling through the archive which was daunting to say the least. I had some good entries; I had some bad entries; but nonetheless, I wrote!

Of all the events that took place in 2011, here are some of the ones I do remember. Although not necessarily more significant than others, they somehow managed to remain somewhat fresh in my mind.

  • 2011 brought to us concerns of nuclear safety as Japan experienced one of its worst earthquakes ever.
  • The technology world bade farewell to Steve Jobs, while activists fought tooth and nail until the very end before reluctantly saying goodbye to Troy Davis.
  • Bradley Manning finally received his trial but after being tortured and treated inhumanely without being charged for anything.
  • The labor program at my alma mater came under attack when lies about it spread like wildfire on the interwebs.
  • America’s kill team came into the spotlight, not for killing Osama bin Laden but for killing innocence abroad.
  • Finally, a revolutionary event took place in Africa, inspired others and quickly spread to the rest of the world, which included occupations across many US cities.

So now, dear friends, I am here to say “au revoir” to 2011 and bellow out from the pits of my stomach “bonjour!” to 2012.

Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

