Skip to content

My Recipe for Spaghetti

November 19, 2011

I don’t often write about my experiences when it comes to my forays in the kitchen but there is something I find therapeutic about cooking food. Today, I took the opportunity to strap on my imaginary chef’s hat and apron to cook spaghetti and sauce. I know it’s a very simple dish to make with many variations, but I wanted to take the time to share my recipe–plus, I couldn’t think of anything else to write about, so I thought I would write about today’s spaghetti adventure.

First, let’s start with the ingredients:

  • A bottle of spaghetti sauce–I don’t recall what kind I bought today
  • Ground beef–I usually buy 80/20
  • One white onion
  • Garlic (four cloves)
  • Portobella mushrooms–I bought a bag that was cut and cleaned already
  • Four roma tomatoes
  • Cilantro
  • Sea salt
  • Tellicherry pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat spaghetti
  • Parmesan cheese

Now for the instructions:

  • Dice the onion and cut the garlic very finely
  • Cut the roma tomatoes into sixteenths
  • Bring a pot of water to boil, then add the spaghetti, stirring occasionally (The spaghetti cooked in 10 minutes)
  • Warm a pan for two minutes, then add olive oil
  • Add onions to the pan, then add the garlic once the onions begin to become brown
  • Add the mushrooms and stir for a few minutes
  • Add the ground beef and cook until it becomes brown
  • Add the sauce and tomatoes
  • Add salt and pepper, then dice some cilantro and add it
  • Stir the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes while stirring occasionally
  • Drain the spaghetti and plate it along with the sauce
  • Add more salt and/or pepper along with fresh cilantro and parmesan cheese as desired

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    November 21, 2011 3:09 pm

    have you tried cooking the pasta and then adding it to the cooking sauce for a couple minutes just before serving? This is a technique often used in restaurants and can be easily done at home too. Add a small amount of the pasta water (a few tablespoons is usually fine). Everything will meld together nicely this way.

  2. Xuanie permalink
    November 24, 2011 7:18 pm

    Cilantro…interesting. Will try it soon.

Leave a Reply

