Skip to content

Phở in a Box

October 2, 2011

Have you ever wondered to yourself if pre-made phở in a box would be a good idea? Well, I thought there wasn’t a better way to kick off October than to answer that question.

I am not a very picky eater, so I don’t often write about my dining experiences. In this entry, I’m not going to critique the flavors, the aroma nor even how I felt as I cooked–warmed up in this case–the food. Instead, I’m going to share the pictures of the food as I prepared it, how I went about cooking it and whether I liked the food or not.

I purchased the phở from Trader Joe’s. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Trader Joe’s, it’s a grocery store located in various parts of the country–in other words, it’s not a national chain. I thought it would be a good idea to wash down the phở with chicken eggrolls, also from Trader Joe’s.

Here are pictures of each item in their respective boxes.

Phở from Trader Joe's in its box

Chicken eggrolls from Trader Joe's

Since I didn’t want to bother cooking the food via the stove, I decided to resort to my good old friend the microwave. The instructions called for adding water to the container, then nuking the phở for 3 minutes. For the eggrolls, I placed them on a dish and heated them for 3 minutes.

The container of phở from Trader Joe's

Cooked chicken eggrolls

After cooking both items, I tested them to make sure they were really warm. I had to heat the phở for another minute because it was still a little cooler than what I would have liked. As for the eggrolls, you will notice I cut them in half. They were still a little chilly in the middle, so I wanted warm them for another minute.

Finally, after all that labor intensive work, both dishes were ready for consumption.

The chicken eggrolls and phở

Regarding my overall impressions of the food, I probably won’t try these two things again. As I have already mentioned, I am not very picky when it comes to food. But, I wasn’t very thrilled with how these two things tasted. If you want to eat phở, I would suggest going to a Vietnamese restaurant that actually serves it.

I was disappointed with the chicken eggrolls because they tasted more like vegetable eggrolls. There was hardly any chicken in any of them, which left me pondering if I should report my missing chicken to the police. Then I realized, “Nah. The police are probably too busy arresting peaceful protesters.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Raquel permalink
    October 4, 2011 8:31 pm

    in general, i wouldn’t eat anything ethnic from trader joes except their hummus.

Leave a Reply

