Skip to content

Who are the Real Violent Ones?

May 3, 2011

A student who is enrolled in one of the labor studies classes at the University of Missouri-Kansas City sent me this response to recent attacks on the labor program and asked that I post it on condition of anonymity. Meanwhile, my friend Kristen has posted her own own entry, which you can read here.

Now that most of us have seen or heard about the UMKC/UMSL labor studies attack by Andrew Breitbart, I have a question: Who are the violent ones?

The universities have reviewed all the recordings and found no evidence of the claims the instructors were educating students on how to be violent. Many students have stepped forward in a campaign to contact all relevant parties to give their personal testimonies that their labor education has contained no instruction on violence or sabotage.

The students who have sat through the grueling hours of lectures have confirmed that they have not been instructed on violence and sabotage; the universities have reviewed all the footage and found no curriculum of violence and sabotage; and third-party journalists (albeit labor journalists) have reviewed complete tapes and concurred that Andrew Breitbart’s blog and videos were manipulative, heavily edited, and rearranged to portray something that did not actually exist. Then why should we be worried about violence?

Well, despite a lack of violence from the classroom, Breitbart has incited violence by creating it through the spreading of lies. After his blog entry was posted, Breitbart’s followers, uneducated of the truths in the classroom, took his propaganda and made these statements:

#2 April 25, 2011 at 4:25 pm
gus commented:

So it’s OK for me to blow their heads off, when “I” feel it’s “necessary”.

Ok.

#3 April 25, 2011 at 4:29 pm
Gman commented:

Sweet. Let’s got shoot up the next union protest. I’ll bring my M4.

#20 April 25, 2011 at 6:02 pm
Jamie commented:

Hopefully a couple of good ‘Ol local boys will see this post and take care of business….

#26 April 25, 2011 at 7:08 pm
Militant Conservative commented:

Matter of fact this, I agree professor, that is why I carry a gun every day. I never know when I will meet one of you or your minions. I train and practice self defense techniques. You are the bad guy and I am the good guy. I see you coming, you see a defenseless old man.

I will remove the threat, the cops can remove the trash.

powder is dry

While trying to denounce violence, Mr. Breitbart, you created it. To me, it’s akin to blowing up abortion clinics and killing people in order to save unborn children. Obviously, you are willing to compromise your own morals and disregard your own argument in an effort to gain popularity while creating fear, uncertainty and doubt by using self-serving lies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

