Skip to content

Germs of Perfection

January 12, 2011

I will admit that I am a bit of a germaphobe, so it disturbed me after I read this article here. It looks like cash machines (ATMs) are a cesspool for germs and are “as dirty as toilets.” Tests were done in England where it was found that “ATM machines were shown to be heavily contaminated with bacteria; to the same level as nearby public lavatories.”

Scientists took samples from ATMs and reported that ATMs “were found to contain pseudomonads and bacillus, bacterias which are known to cause sickness and diarrhoea.”

Wow, I always figured paper money and coins harbored many germs due to the amount of people interacting with them, but I never gave ATMs a second thought. I guess I will be washing my hands after each visit to the ATM from now on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 8:50 pm

    Don’t put your money where your mouth is, and you’ll be okay.

  2. Ollie permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:03 pm

    Funny that you wrote this because, (stop reading now,if you don’t want to hear about bowel movements)
    I usually never use ATM, really almost never. But Wednesday, I wanted cash because I was making several small purchases, and one of them I did not want a paper trail for. Anyway, I ate very healthy that day, a diet that included a copious amount of fiber, breakfast, yogurt with much granola, lunch a pbj sandwich on homemade bread, 3 large carrots, and about 5 to 7 prunes, dinner a turkey sandwich on multi-grain bread, with an apple. That evening, about 4 to 5 hours after ATM usage, I had three trips to the commode for sessions of gas pains, mild sweating, and confirmed diarrhea. I wash my hands always in restrooms and the like, and ate quite healthy. I guess your story explains my irregular bowel movements. Thanks again for this blog which delivers, outstandingly critical information.

Leave a Reply

