Skip to content

Speak Easy

May 14, 2010

After reading this article here about Google Translate, I thought I would try the text-to-speech feature in Vietnamese.

It didn’t have any problems translating “the restaurant is closed,” but the actual speech seemed bizarre to me. Maybe I’m not used to hearing a synthesized version of Vietnamese.

I also tried “I am thirsty” and “I am hungry,” which isn’t quite how I would say each sentence in Vietnamese. Again, the synthesized speech seemed odd to me.

Although it may still not be perfect, Google’s ambitious project to provide not only text-to-text translation but also text-to-speech is nonetheless impressive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

