Skip to content

Two Feelings

January 25, 2010

I have been hearing the song I Gotta Feeling by the Black Eyed Peas (BEP) quite a few times over the course of the last several days, which has made me ponder the interpretation of the song’s title.

Gotta” is a contraction of the words “got” and “to”, and it may refer to something as simple as having to do something, as in the case of “I gotta go home” or “I gotta write you a letter.” There’s also the meaning of arriving at a conclusion such as the case of “I got to thinking [about our future together].” It can mean that you were given the opportunity to do something as given by this example, “I got to drive the car all the way home.”

As far as I can tell, there are two possible ways to interpret the title.

First, “I got to feeling [good about myself finally]”, where feeling is a participle.

Second, maybe the BEP intended it to mean “I got a feeling [that tonight’s events are going to fun and exciting]”, where feeling is a now a gerund.

The spelling of “gotta” may or may not have been a mistake. It does leave room for interpretation, which doesn’t surprise me since artists tend to do that kind of thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

